Property.....and ting
  • So in a poor attempt to be a responsible adult I'm attempting to actually make a BIG DECISION and get my foot on the property ladder in Londinium.

Decisions have been made as to whether I'd prefer a shoe box in a nice area (Greenwich), or a slightly larger shoebox in a not so nice area (Stratford), where "Crime in your area" informs me there were 14 "violent crimes" ....in one month...on the cul de sac the end of which was one of the (soulless) new builds I viewed...hmm noice.

So far gone through the travails of bullshit estate agents, bullshitting estate agents, unsound mortgage advisors (Advisor: "So how would you provide proof of earnings...payslips?" Me: "No as I told you previously I'm a contractor, so I predominantly reimburse myself in dividends" Advisor: "What's a dividend?" Me:"ohmahgawd"), do'a'upper flats, cosy flats (estate agent bullshit bingo and all that) etc etc, which has all been quite a laugh actually.

Anyway, if anyone is interested in passing on their experiences, common pitfall, anecdotes, tips etc or if you are in a similar position and are um-ing and ah-ing about whether to buy or not given the state of the economy, possible implosion of the Eurozone (at some point surely), expected rise in interest rates etc etc...I'm all ears.

Cheers.
  • Petey
    Show networks
    Twitter
    peterhughesdev
    PSN
    windupharlequin
    Steam
    windupharlequin

Send message
    Don't buy a flat in london?
    The janitor.
  • buy in london. But buy as far out from the center as possible but with decent transport links.

Fringe areas like croydon have masses of ameneties, good transport links and reasonable pricing (because its farish out and there is alot of ex council).

Thats my 2p. Also when it comes to doing the survey, go for a full survey, dont scrimp on that as it'll bite you in the ass.