Superhero Films: Will They Ever Take Off?
  • Kow
    Show networks
    Twitter
    Kowdown
    Xbox
    Kowdown
    PSN
    Kowdown
    Steam
    Kowdown

Send message
    I thought it was fine too.
  • Yeah, those two first Spideyman films were really good.
    See I was really into Marvel comics when I was a child. Started with Marvel Comic, then Spiderman when he got his own comic. Loved The Avengers when they got their own comic. Read The X-Men for a good few years too.
    Now this is clearly a very long time ago (tail end of the 60's probably till the tail end of the 70's when I switched to 2000AD, so it's not like I have no knowledge or love of the Marvel universe, but as the films get bigger and more complicated they're losing me, because they over-rely on knowledge of previous films.
    Now I've seen the vast majority of them (but not necessarily in the correct order which obviously doesn't help) but none of their plots are the least bit memorable regardless of whether I enjoyed them or not, so by the time you get to something like Captain America: Civil War, I'm really struggling to work out what the fuck is going on.

CA:CW begins with them fighting some Big Punchy Man with robot fists in some foreign country. I don't know who he is, I don't know if I'm even meant to know who he is, and he's never introduced properly. Maybe I've seen him in a previous film or maybe I haven't, but I have no knowledge of who he is. Would it really hurt to have a couple of lines of exposition at this point explaining what the fuck is going on?

Then there's this guy who is the main villain, but for most of the film you have no idea who the fuck he is because he's just Anonymous White Man. Turns out he's actually the son of a character (who to the best of my knowledge) has never appeared in any of the Marvel films. That's not terribly helpful either.