Classical Music
  • I'd been wondering about igor for a while now. I hope he and his wife are doing ok, I always enjoyed his recommendations. Led me down some fantastic alleys in music that I would never have found otherwise.

Edit: 
    If you are a complete noob, as well as the classical fm best of stuff, maybe try the Spotify playlists, Philip Glass, and William Orbit's album, then maybe some of the film-music composers such as John Williams, then back through Holst, Wagner, Prokofiev, all the people from whom modern film composers relentlessly copy.
  • davyK
    Show networks
    Xbox
    davyK13
    Steam
    dbkelly

Send message
    Dinostar77 wrote:
    Noob to classical music, where do I start? With a generic best of album?

As good a place as any. Then follow the composer.
    Holding the wrong end of the stick since 2009.
  • I'd been wondering about igor for a while now. I hope he and his wife are doing ok, I always enjoyed his recommendations. Led me down some fantastic alleys in music that I would never have found otherwise.

@igorgetmeabrain
  • Thanks, it's been an interesting and somewhat fraught couple of years but I'm still here. Not even been lurking here much lately but that might change. It was horrible to hear of LazyGunn but I hope everyone here is doing ok too. I keep myself to myself so I didn't know him too well but I always had much admiration for him. Other than that I have no clue what's been happening in B&B land but I guess I'll catch up if I attempt re-entry into the community at some point.
  • Hello Igor. I miss your pointers on classical music, it'd be good to see you back.
  • It's genuinely lovely to see you igor.  Know that you are indeed missed.
    Come with g if you want to live...
  • Thanks for the kind words.