Ask the Bear & Badger
  • HawBawJaws wrote:
    Using the ip address, can we figure out the mobile number that used the app to place the order?

Not legally, I don’t think.

I think the only people who can link the IP address to a phone number are the ISP being used at the time. So the user’s phone network, or Cineworld’s ISP if the user was on their Wi-Fi at the time. Usually it would take a court order to make an ISP or network provider hand over the details.

You can find out your own mobile’s IP address quite easily though, so maybe a workaround would be to get all staff to (voluntarily) do that in an interview or meeting and check whose matches the IP address you have?
  • I suspected as much, cheers!
  • I’m no expert, others here might know more about less kosher ways to find out what you need.
  • Yossarian
    Show networks
    Xbox
    Yossarian Drew
    Steam
    Yossarian_Drew

Send message
    Something like this:

https://grabify.link/

Used on a link sent to the guy you suspect might work if he clicks it.

Although, based on my understanding of IP addresses, even if they matched it might not mean it was him specifically, IP addresses on the web aren’t used by single devices. And, even if they didn’t match it could still be him as IP addresses can change.

Disclaimer: the above paragraph could well be mistaken.
  • cockbeard
    Show networks
    Facebook
    ben.usaf
    Twitter
    @cockbeard
    PSN
    c_ckbeard
    Steam
    cockbeard

Send message
    Above paragraph is correct. IP Addresses are expensive, so residential customers share a whole bunch that get rotated around. So IP address is very likely a nogo. Because you'd get the current IP address not the one they had at the time except you'd not get it