The Bizzaro World of Job Hunting
‹ Previous12
  • Still on furlough and I have a suspicion that come the end of October when the scheme ends they'll be letting me go.  (Tbh, that would be a merciful release).  So I got six weeks left to do some jobhunting. Which of course, nobody relishes, but from time to time, it throws up some bizzaro moments.  I work in the third sector, so I often find myself having to surf generic jobsites too.  And came across this corker today:

Father Christmas 3004244

Great Grottos are the UK leaders in the professional management of Christmas Grottos and a top employer of Santas nationwide.

There is something quite depressing about the term ‘professional management’ being applied to Christmas Grottos. I picture Santa putting his Elf workforce on timed toilet breaks.

We are looking for gentlemen from 28 years and over to play the role of Father Christmas this year at Dobbies Garden Centre.
    That’s a odd age limit to specify; I’m sure there are some portly 23 year olds out there that would relish the experience of being Santa. And what’s Santa doing among the hydrangeas anyway?

Experience is not essential as a full training programme is provided, where you will be assisted with clever techniques and fun dialogue.

Aided by a Christmas Elf, you will be responsible for:

Creating memorable visits by talking to children
            Handing out one of our amazing presents
            Posing for photos
            Wearing one of our professional & sized costumes
    Spoiler:

This is a fantastic experience offering:

Highly rewarding & enjoyable role
            Full training programme
            Professional & sized costume provided
            Good hourly rates of pay
            Wages paid fortnightly
            Flexible shifts available

They forgot the mince pies and a glass of sherry!

You will be part of a team of Santas performing shifts which suit your availability.

But everyone knows there's only one Santa!!!