Which ailments currently beplague you
  • It's been getting rig of the wax, which was plentiful! I think that there were 2 separate problems, as after using the drops I began to be able to pop my ears, which I couldn't do before, though it was still blocked further in. Bought some Sudafed Mucas Relief, and ear seems to have popped! Doesn't feel completely clear, but I'm no longer basically deaf.

I'm an ear popping expert thanks to flying.  99% of the time it's a block on the inner side of the ear drum, which is why the mucus relief sorted you.
  • Should I continue taking it Elm? I have full hearing now, but it was a problem in the mornings. I'm coming up to being able to take some more.
  • Is this a nasal spray?  If so, they can by physiologically addictive, so be careful.  You have your ear canal, then your ear drum, then your middle ear.  If you clamber up a mountain, air pressure decreases, so your ear drum bulges out.  To equalise the pressure, you have a bit called your eustachian tube that runs from the inside of your eardrum to the back of your throat, and you force the excess pressure down that.

If you're blocked up with mucus, your eustachian tube gets gummed up, and you can't bleed that pressure out.  The bowed eardrum isn't as responsive, so that's what affects your hearing.  

Symptomatically, it's alright to keep taking things like that, and if it's a phenylephrine-based decongestant then it's fine, gobble it down.  If it's a steroidal nasal spray, that works by constricting the blood vessels to force your eustachian tube open.  It's extremely effective, but your eustachian tube is opened to (say) 180% of normal size.  That means when the inflammation and mucus clear up, and it settles to 100%, it feels like it's a bit blocked.