Christmas Cake/Pudding/Ham bake/steam/roast-a-long 2023 edition
  • I was a head chef for many years and this is one of my party pieces.  It always impresses.

Bacon wrapped, stuffing filled turkey leg and thigh roll.  I do this every year.  It can be a bit fiddly but it cooks really evenly and as it is served in slices, allows really good portion control.

If you want to try this you will need:

Couple of packs of streaky bacon - ideally smoked but not a deal breaker
    2 turkey legs and thighs - These can be butchered off a full bird
    Aluminium foil

Ingredients for whatever type of stuffing you want to do.  For example,

Sausage meat
    Chestnuts
    Dried apricots or cranberries
    Bread
    Onions
    Garlic
    Celery
    Fresh sage
    Chicken stock cube made into stock
    Ground black pepper

I'm sure you can all make stuffing.   If not, then fry the onions and garlic until soft, add chopped sage and stir for a couple of minutes.  Add the bread and the stock until its soaked up.  Throw it in a bowl and add all the other ingredients.  Mix together, put to one side and let it cool.

This all needs to be prepped the night before cooking. 

Butcher the legs and thighs off the turkey.  This is the fiddly bit.  Get rid of all the cartilage, bone, skins and tendon.  You'll be left with a couple of bits of meat that look like an ugly parallelogram and some left over chunks.  It doesn't matter how this looks just that you get the inedible bits out,  There are long leg tendony bits that are twats but you've got this.

Lay about 2 feet of foil shiny side down on a surface and lay the streaky bacon side by side along it.  Leave about 4-6 inches of clear foil at each end.

Place the meat on the bacon, ideally leaving a little bit of bacon free at the top and bottom.  You want it to be quite even so slice bits off, fill in gaps, and don't leave it too thick.