Show networks
    Xbox
    FranticPea
    PSN
    FranticPea
    Steam
    FranticPea

Send message
    I'm a network engineer and I'm currently fitting some data sockets. Just pulled a lid off some dado trunking and subsequently received a lovely electric shock, which caused me to throw my screwdriver about 10 metres across the room. I'm not happy.

Seems the cowboy that fitted the power either didn't know what he was doing, or couldn't be arsed. Bare wires galore, I'm not going anywhere near it.

I've noticed quite a bit of shoddy work from various contractors recently, and it really does my head in. What happened to taking pride in your work? 

So, this is a thread to post any experiences of shoddy workmanship, whether at work or by people you've paid to do work in your home.
  • My hot water tank looks like the Pipe Nightmare from the SCP website, or some cyberpunk spider web. The idiot that installed it put it bang in the middle of the cupboard and ran all the pipes straight to it, so I consequently have a big airing cupboard, but no room for shelving, or to put any clothes in there to dry.
  • FranticPea
    Show networks
    Xbox
    FranticPea
    PSN
    FranticPea
    Steam
    FranticPea

Send message
    The guy that tiled our bathroom tiled over the panel that I'd specifically made to allow access to our boiler pipes, even though I asked him not too. It looks good, but now the lovely joinery that I spent hours trying to do is pointless. Idiot.

Also, I've since found out that we shouldn't really have a boiler in the bathroom- the boiler engineer neglected to advise us otherwise.

See, it's endless!
  • Actually, I've got a question..my bathroom needs ripping out. Do you tile first from an empty room (obviously after the pipework is in place), or install the suite, then tile?
  • PHONE ROGUE TRADERS NOW!!