Weird Stuff (tinfoil hat wearing goons only, please)
  • Hah, I did wonder if that'd be pointed out.
  • The guy I get my shrooms from- in person- is quite a big seller there, and everything I have ever had from him has been in a different league to what I had before. But he's also a mycologist by trade, so I guess you'd expect him to really know what he's doing.

I actually really like this guy. His mushroom obsession is so deep that I can't help but find it charming; how he can't mask his passion and enthusiasm for these things in the slightest, and his whole face lights up whenever he gets the chance to talk about some random little detail that almost anyone else would find boring. Sometimes he just sends me random pictures of new types of mushrooms that have been discovered in some random place, thinking I'm into it in the same way he is, and I find it kind of cute. 

Anyway, few years ago I found a really beautiful old book about wild mushrooms. It was clearly from the DDR, and all the pictures were hand drawn in a really pleasing aesthetic style, in that way which only old books can be. It was a really nice addition to my shelf, especially as it was in surprisingly good condition. However, much as I liked it, it was obvious that he would love it even more, so I decided to post it to him as a random little surprise gift. 

I really didn't expect anything in return, but the next time I saw him he said he had a surprise for me too. He was quite excited to give it to me. It was 2 grams of some exotic mushroom, semperviva something, I can't remember the exact name. He described it as the absolute peak champagne of psychedelic mushrooms, exceptionally potent but even harder to grow. It's not a cubensis, so not something any amateur could ever dream of cultivating. Even getting hold of the spores is a nightmare (I have spent a long time looking).