Retro Club - 8 & 16-bit puzzlers
  • Couple more retro games I have played recently: 

Caveman Ninja (Arcade)

Another arcade game that's ruined by its almost broken difficulty by the need to keep gamers pumping those coins in.

The only real positive of this is the graphics, the sprite art is gorgeous. Oh, and its co-op which made it just about bearable to see through to the credits.

I had this on SNES as a kid, and from memory that had extra levels and a far fairer difficulty. I might add the ROM to my SNES mini and check it out.

This version has disappointed.

2/5  

My reviews
    オレノナハ エラー ダ
  • Thunder Cross (Arcade) - 30mins  

Very good Konami shoot 'em up that never saw a home release afaik.

Nothing out of the ordinary for 1988 really, R-Type and Gradius were both out by then but this does everything well.

As much as I like shoot 'em ups I'm not very good at them, this one seems a bit on the easier side than most I've played, actually felt like one I could get good at if I put more time in.

As usual, an absolute blast in co-op. Good stuff.

4/5

My reviews
    オレノナハ エラー ダ
  • I fancy a run through of Shinobi III so I'll put that in here if that's okay with everyone. Join me if you can, it's a belter.

I went back to Cameltry and it's a top tier curio, but I must admit I lost interest a little as the stages got more complex. It's something I expect would have played properly at the time, the idea is very well executed for a 16-bit game.
  • Yeah, that was my feelings with On The Ball. Like good puzzle platformers such as Solomons Key or The Lost Vikings it got too hard for me quite quickly.

I've got a ton of retro games I've played recently that I need to do write ups for, will try and do it tonight.
    オレノナハ エラー ダ
  • davyK
    Show networks
    Xbox
    davyK13
    Steam
    dbkelly

Send message