Their Best One - Studio Ghibli
  • When I did my degree in Animation Ghibli came up a lot as you would imagine, which is fine and to be expected.

Except there were three or four students who were obsessed. Every conversation, every lecture, every presentation they did their best to angle everything back to Ghibli before arguing repeatedly whether the best was Spirited Away or Princess Mononoko. Fuck anyone trying to get an education for their 10 grand, just fucking nerd debate.

These cat eared losers ruined Ghibli for me. Spray it in deodorant then burn it all.

Could be worse though, the year above had a similar group but replace Ghibli with Sonic.
  • Fuck.  So hard to choose.  I love most of them.  For me, it's between Totoro, Spirited Away and Grave of the Fireflies.  I think I'll go for...

Grave of the Fireflies
    I am a FREE. I am not MAN. A NUMBER.
  • If I had to make an argument for which one is 'objectively' the best it would be Princess Mononoke. I think it has the most interesting story philosophically/allegorically, and is a perfect antidote to the saccharine manichean nature of a lot of the classic animated films from the likes of Disney.

You certainly wouldn't see someone get their head shot off with an arrow in Sleeping Beauty.

I'm going to have to go for Ponyo as my favourite, because it's got an important message about protecting the environment and also some of the most beautiful sea animation/artwork you'll ever see.
  • davyK
    Show networks
    Xbox
    davyK13
    Steam
    dbkelly

Send message
    Very difficult task - so far I've watched Spirited Away, Howl's Moving Castle, Princess Mononoke and Grave of the Fireflies. I simply couldn't pick one from that.

Spirited Away is probably the most accessible but that doesn't mean the best. The imagination on show in Howl's is superb while the other two are outwardly at least the more thoughtful - but they all have a deep meaning running through them.