A thread for the pets
  • I am not an expert, of course. Just throwing ideas.
  • LivDiv wrote:
    Got a bit of a problem with Clay and thought I would ask the hive mind.

He isnt eating his meals properly is the fundamental problem.

He will eat some of it, or all if I keep picking it up, shaking it about, hand feeding bits etc. Yesterday I laid on the floor next to him while he ate.

He will eat treats and carrots. He will also eat full meals of the exact same food at my parent's place.

I tried different food but he turns his nose up at anything in a bowl.

He is also pooing normally.

So I very much doubt its teeth or gut problems.

I suspect it is stress/routine change. I spent most of last year without much work which meant a lot of time with him or on the sofa where he can sit next to me.
    For the last 6 weeks or so work has been intense with a fair few late nights as well. He hasn't been neglected, he still gets walks and play. However it is a noticeable shift from one extreme to the other and likely has thrown him out of whack.

I'm going to my parents place tonight for one last check, see if he will eat his dinner and breakfast there. If he doesn't its off to the vets, if he does then I'm gonna need some creative thinking to get him eating at home.

Edit: Just got him to eat what was left of his breakfast but it took some couching and he would mostly only eat it if I poured it out the bowl and onto the floor. Ive alrerady tried three different bowls so don't think it is the particular bowl. Not changed washing up liquid either.

My incredibly not expert take (experience based on one dog that's never had a problem eating).

He's eating fine at your parents but not at yours. He's stressed because scheduling changes have taken you away from him. Along the way he has realised that special care is given by you if he doesn't eat everything.