Currently Playing
  • Outer Wilds has now become almost completely unbearable, I'm this fucking close to just looking up the ending to see if something actually interesting happens. I've never done that before though, because I would usually just rather not play at all than circumvent the experience like that. There's nothing particularly hard about anything, it's just fucking boring and fails to motivate me to want to explore or do anything anymore.

The biggest issue is that like 90% of the info you uncover is just gumpf, lore and character stuff that is only interesting if you are invested in the story. Then there's 7% which sort of fleshes out the causal structure of the place, and only 3% that is of actual practical use to the player for progression. I've waited minutes at a time for a cycle to come around so I can get somewhere only to find nothing but useless chatter.

I've done all the low hanging fruit, and the more out of the way stuff has yielded close to fuck all too, so I'm just hugely demotivated at this point from spending more hours poking around in the remaining few corners. I really just want it to be over now, getting massive The Witness vibes which I also actively disliked. I fucking love good puzzle games and minimal interaction story exploration games, but this just feels lame in comparison to stuff I've played in the past. The quantum puzzles are pish.
  • I didn't finish it and was pissed off I couldn't be arsed looking up the story reveal
    Switch Friend Code: SW-5407-6034-9226

PSN: derekg
  • The quantum puzzles are far from pish.
  • I think I think the exact opposite of what you think there Gurt
  • It's always fascinating how different people can have such varying opinions about something, which is nice because the world would probably be a more boring place if we all agreed on things.