Stuff for "Creatives" and whatnot..
  • Can’t say I’ve read it in the last 10–15 years.
  • Likely the problem.

I used to have a browse on the site when I remembered.
  • The thing about industry magazines is that people used to buy them for the job ads. No need for that nowadays. Which leaves only agencies buying them, not reading them, to leave out on the reception coffee table. And when money gets tight, those agency subscriptions are an easy thing to cut.
  • Covid and work from home will have fucked that too.
  • I’d certainly not claim to be a ‘proper’ designer as everything I’ve done has been self-taught, but can happily meddle in the Adobe Creative suite to produce something that looks alright and have worked in roles where I’ve been the one responsible for corporate publications and general printing.

Anyhoo, it means I’ve got an interest in design so subscribed to Creative Review for a bit as it’s always interesting to see what’s going on across their pages - stopped it when they jacked the price up considerably once they’d decided they could do so as they’d made all their old back catalogue available online as a part of the cost.

Just looked again now, and it’s £280 a year for access which includes the physical copy of four print issues a year (including the Annual Awards issue)…£200 for digital only - not entirely sure where I’m going with this other than not being surprised some have struggled.
  • Guessing if their market was diluted down to studios and offices over individuals they thought they could get away with it. £280 for a studio isn't much.

Not sure its the best choice mind.

The only sub I have had in recent years is Juxtapoz. That comes in at about £50 for 4 issues spread across the year, no digital though but what is on their site is free.
  • Get yer kilts on fellas! There's apparently going to be dancing in the streets!

g3i4UVO.png
    Come with g if you want to live...