Gadgets, Tech, etc.
  • Err I would just get a cheap used business laptop perhaps. Can certainly get something decent for less than £200.
  • I managed to get my Thinkpad X230 "i7" for £180 or so, a couple of years ago. The main thing you want for responsiveness is an SSD as the drive for Windows and your programs.
  • I've had some bad experiences and really don't trust used electronics, do you know of anywhere trustworthy that gives a decent (at least a year) warranty and won't quibble about intermittent problems?
  • For £200 I would take a punt tbh, any issues immediately apparent and you can return through ebay, otherwise you can get most of the spare parts reasonably easily and cheaply for something like a Thinkpad. It's actually properly user serviceable.

I daresay there are places that refurbish and offer a little warranty.

Looks like the X230 is still one of the better choices around for that kind of money, it's actually better than it's successors in some ways.
  • I'd rather give her the extra myself than risk having to fix it for her, especially since I've no idea about diagnosing what a problem actually is these days, but it'd certainly work for some.
  • Does the X230 i7 have an ssd version?
    equinox_code "I need girls cornered and on their own"
  • Just found my answer. Surprising what a Google search can help with.

There are a lot of variations of this Thinkpad, Gurt. What's your exact model? Or what would you recommend. I assume it is Lenovo.
  • A laptop with Ubuntu installed (or another Linux distro) plus a ssd will be pretty quick. I replaced the hard disk on an old laptop with a cheap ssd and it just flys. Helps if you avoid Windows OS
  • three1ne wrote:
    Just found my answer. Surprising what a Google search can help with. There are a lot of variations of this Thinkpad, Gurt. What's your exact model? Or what would you recommend. I assume it is Lenovo.