Currently Playing
  • I never really got the Dark Souls as Metroidvania idea. There's a few doors and keys but no new abilities to learn that open up new areas, and not a lot of backtracking.
  • davyK
    Show networks
    Xbox
    davyK13
    Steam
    dbkelly

Send message
    I loved both Zelda AlttP and Super Metroid. But I was done with that type of game once I had played them. Didn't want any more.
    JonB wrote:
    You have no idea how much a crushing disappointment SOTN was to me. I always loved the tightly focussed linear experience of Castlevania and when I started playing this and saw all that bolted on RPG related stuff/guff my heart sank. To turn such a tight game into a bloody run-of-the-mill-that-everyone-else-does-explorathon was a sin.
    This was after about, what, 10 versions of the older style Vania? It needed a new direction by then. And what SotN did was still quite original at the time.

Well...SOTN came after 4 or 5 (with a few reduxes/remixes on the side) so not exactly that many  but I know what you mean. Maybe it needed to move on a bit but I was disappointed with the direction. More could have been made of the 8 way whip control and the swinging sections in 4 to create more complex areas to navigate whilst retaining the assault course feel of the game. More could have been made of boss fights. A few new weapons with levels/enemies to match. Alternative routes maybe as per Rondo of Blood. Keys as per Rebirth. The exploring bit was just a big turn off - I just couldn't be bothered with the grind.
    Holding the wrong end of the stick since 2009.
  • JonB wrote:
    I never really got the Dark Souls as Metroidvania idea. There's a few doors and keys but no new abilities to learn that open up new areas, and not a lot of backtracking.

I can buy Dark Souls the First as a Metroidvania but the series, as a whole, has been cashing cheques off the quality and structure of that game for too long now. It’s the exception, not the rule.