Society's Ills - A study in the perceived inequalities between the "haves" and the "have nots"
  • Yossarian
    Show networks
    Xbox
    Yossarian Drew
    Steam
    Yossarian_Drew

Send message
    mk64 wrote:
    You create your own luck. Not being defeatist and negative proves that. Did you read the last paragraph where the "evidence" is essentially created to reinforce his left wing ideology?
    Eh? No, I missed that.

And once again, you do not have empirical evidence, you have anecdotes. Anecdotes are not evidence.

And, whilst I'd be happy to have a beer with you, your situation is not analogous to mine. As I mentioned earlier on, I suffer from a disability - dyspraxia - which often comes with feelings of low self-esteem and depression. I, on paper, have an awful lot going for me. Apparently, my IQ makes me eligible to join MENSA, I have people skills, at least on the superficial level needed to get on at work, I have a degree, I have a loving and supportive family and I'm a good looking man (superficial I know, but studies have shown that attractive people do tend to be seen as more trustworthy and get on better in life). But, none of this takes away from the fact that I pretty much hate myself and consider myself to be worthless. If anything's holding me back, that's it, and no amount of 'well, you could do X' is going to change the fact that, on a very deep level, I do not believe that I deserve anything better for myself.
  • This thread fell down a well a long time ago.
  • Has "hard work" ever been a necessary minimum to enjoy significant wealth?
  • These people - and there are alot of them, then need to retrain for jobs which pay more money. Its not an overnight thing but its what they would need to do.
    Is that really realistic though? or even fair? Why should one career choice be paid significantly more than another of equal skill?