The B&B Writers Thread
  • Sure. Well it's been a long and painful road just to get to this point! I went to the national film school about seven years ago to do a screenwriting masters. When I graduated I landed a Coming Up on Channel 4 which is their scheme for new writers and directors, a one off half hour drama. That got me my first broadcast credit and that helped me to get an agent. I've been developing a bunch of feature film projects since then, one of them (which I've been writing on and off for about six years) is hopefully going to go into production this year.

While all that's been going on I've been trying to get comedy projects off the ground too. I was selected for a BAFTA scheme back in 2013 that took five writers to the New York TV Festival to have their scripts performed on stage. One of the judges from that scheme was from a UK production company and ended up commissioning something else from me that ended up being Pumped, the sitcom pilot I did for BBC3.
  • Read it all now. It's great stuff, definitely can't wait to see this finished.
  • Cheers, DD (if that was directed at me). Hopefully I can actually maintain for once in my life and get through the whole thing.

That's all very interesting, Scout. I've never tried to write anything for stage/tv/film but know a couple of chaps who have - Though they've certainly not had the successes you've had so far. Very well done.
  • It was at you. It's good.
  • Cheers, DD (if that was directed at me). Hopefully I can actually maintain for once in my life and get through the whole thing. That's all very interesting, Scout. I've never tried to write anything for stage/tv/film but know a couple of chaps who have - Though they've certainly not had the successes you've had so far. Very well done.